HOPOS and SSHAP 2016

SSHAP is happy to team up with HOPOS to invite their members, many of whom share interests,  to our respective conferences. The conferences are only a few days apart: SSHAP will take place in Denver 16-18 June, and HOPOS in Minneapolis 22-25 June.There are many fast, nonstop flights from Denver to Minneapolis, every day.

You will find information about the SSHAP meeting HERE. The Call for Submissions for the HOPOS meeting is below.

HOPOS 2016 – Call for Submissions

June 22-25, 2016

Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA


Keynote Speakers

Karine Chemla, REHSEIS, CNRS, and Université Paris Diderot

Thomas Uebel, University of Manchester

HOPOS: The International Society for the History of Philosophy of Science will hold its eleventh international congress in Minneapolis, on June 22-25, 2016.  The Society requests proposals for papers and for symposia to be presented at the meeting.

HOPOS is devoted to promoting scholarly research on the history of the philosophy of science. We construe this subject broadly, to include topics in the history of related disciplines and in all historical periods, studied through diverse methodologies.  In order to encourage scholarly exchange across the temporal reach of HOPOS, the program committee especially encourages submissions that take up philosophical themes that cross time periods.

If you have inquiries about the conference or about the submission process, please write to Maarten van Dyck: maarten.vandyck [at] ugent.be.


To submit a proposal, please visit the following website:  http://hopos2016.umn.edu/call-submissions

Proposals for papers should be prepared for anonymous review. Proposals should include:

  • Title and abstract of the paper (maximum 500 words).

Proposals for symposia should be prepared for anonymous review. Proposals should include:

  • Title of the symposium.
  • Symposium summary statement (maximum 500 words).
  • Titles and abstracts of the papers (maximum 500 words for each paper).
  • A symposium should consist of 3 or 4 papers.


Program Committee

  • Maarten van Dyck (Ghent University), “Kant and Before” Subcommittee Chair
  • Karen Detlefsen (University of Pennsylvania)
  • Andrea Falcon (Concordia University)
  • Sophie Roux (École Normale Supérieure, Paris)
  • Marius Stan (Boston College)
  • Lydia Patton (Virginia Tech), “After Kant” Subcommittee Chair
  • Janet Folina (Macalester College)
  • Greg Frost-Arnold (Hobart and William Smith Colleges)
  • Matthias Neuber (Universität Tübingen)
  • Jonathan Tsou (Iowa State University)