SSHAP 2016

Fifth annual conference

Denver, 16-18 June 2016

The fifth annual conference of the Society for the Study of the History of Analytical Philosophy will be held at Metropolitan State University Denver in Denver, Colorado.  It is locally organised by Sean Morris and funded by the Philosophy Department at MSUD.

Invited Speakers



June 16, 2016

9:00                 Coffee/Pastries (CN 303)

10:00–11:00    Registration (CN 303)

11:00–1:00      Session 1

CN 204 (Chair: Gary Ebbs)

  • Warren Goldfarb, Harvard University: Showing
  • Juliette Kennedy, University of Helsinki: Tarski and the “mathematical”

CN 205 (Chair: Alex Klein)

  • Robert Greenleaf Brice, Loyola University: Defending Common Sense, Moore and Wittgenstein
  • Kevin Morris, Tulane University: Revisiting Moore’s Critique of Organic Unity

CN 217 (Chair: Sandra Lapointe)

  • Sam N. Johnson, University of Arkansas: Ryle the Functionalist
  • Paul L. Franco, University of Washington: ‘Like offering a text-book…to someone who says (with a sigh)…that he wished he understood…the human heart’: ‘Ordinary Language’ Criticisms of Logical Positivism


1:00–2:00        Lunch (CN 303)

2:00–4:00        Session 2

CN 204 (Chair: Richard Creath)

  • James Pearson, Bridgewater State University: Caring for Quine’s Don’t Cares
  • Matt Carlson, Wabash College: Understanding Quine’s Epistemological Project

CN 205 (Chair: Stewart Shapiro)

  • Sandra Lapointe, McMaster University: Methodological Perspectives on the History of Logic
  • Marcus Rossberg, University of Connecticut (joint work with Andrew Parisi): Sellars’s Debt to Carnap: Abstract Entities

CN 217 (Chair: Kevin Morris)

  • Aude Bandini, Université de Montréal: Losing sight of the Given: N. Goodman against C. I. Lewis
  • Vladimir Seliverstov, National Research University Higher School of Economics: The meaning and significance of dispute on objectless presentations

4:00–4:30        Coffee Break (CN 303)

4:30–6:00        Plenary Speaker: Richard Creath, Arizona State University (TV 320)

Carnap, Quine and Convention

                                 Chair: Joan Weiner


7:00                 Informal Dinner: Euclid Hall


June 17, 2016

9:00–11:00      Session 3

CN 204 (Chair: Marcus Rossberg)

  • Joan Weiner, Indiana University: The Epistemological Project of the Grundgesetze
  • David Godden, Michigan State University: Revisiting Frege’s Epistemology. Frege on the nature of proof and justification

CN 205 (Chair: Joshua Eisenthal)

  • Phillip Ricks, University of Iowa: How Was the Tractatus Meant to be Read?” Subtitle: “Walking the Paths of the Tractatus
  • Andrew Parisi, University of Connecticut: Carnap’s Tractatus Logico-Philosophicus

CN 217 (Chair: Peter Sullivan)

  • Sean Morris, Metropolitan State University of Denver: Russell, Idealism, and the Emergence of Scientific Philosophy
  • Alex Klein, California State University: Anarchism and Morbid Melancholy: Was Russell Right about James on God?


11:00–11:30    Coffee Break (CN 303)


11:30–1:00      Plenary Speaker: Consuelo Preti, The College of New Jersey (TV 320)

“Fraternally Yours”: The Curious Bond Between Moore and Russell

                                                Chair: Sandra Lapointe


1:00-1:30         General Annual Meeting and Election (TV 320)

1:30–2:30        Lunch (TV 320)

2:30–4:30        Session 4

CN 204 (Chair: David Godden)

  • Andrew Smith, Indiana University: Frege’s Conversion
  • William Taschek, Ohio State University: Frege on Sense and the Normatively of Logic

CN 205 (Chair: Richard Zach)

  • Stewart Shapiro, Ohio State University: Potential Infinity: a modal account
  • Landon D. C. Elkind, University of Iowa: A Theorem of Infinity for Principia Mathematica

CN 217 (Chair: Andrei Marasoiu)

  • Matthew Childers, University of Iowa: Wittgenstein and Kant on Substance
  • Clinton Tolley, University of California: Helmholtz’s Psychology and the Distinction Between Sensation and Perception


7:00     Conference Dinner: Lola


June 18, 2016

9:00–11:00      Session 5

CN 204 (Chair: Paul L. Franco)

  • Daniel W. Harris, Hunter College and Elmar Unnsteinsson, University College Dublin: Wittgenstein, Austin, and the Origins of Speech-Act Theory: A Preliminary Report
  • Andrei Marasoiu, University of Virginia: What is it to understand?

CN 205 (Chair: Sean Morris)

  • Kevin Klement, University of Massachusetts: Russell’s Logicism Reevaluated
  • Richard Zach, University of Calgary: Steinhardt on Variables

CN 217 (Chair: Timothy Juvshik)

  • Yousuf Hasan, University of Western Ontario: Quine’s Flight from ‘Analyticity’: Reassessing his Empirical Challenge to Carnap.
  • Yi Tong, University of Minnesota: Two Views of Conceptual Analysis


11:00–11:30    Coffee Break (CN 303)

11:30–1:00      Plenary Speaker: Gary Ebbs, Indiana University (TV 320)

Carnap on Ontology

Chair: Warren Goldfarb

1:00–2:00        Lunch (TV 320)

2:00–4:00        Session 6

CN 204 (Chair: Matt Carlson)

  • Kazutaka Inamura, Hirosaki University: Carnap’s explication in the context of definition theory
  • Timothy Juvshik, McGill University: Against a Neo-Quinean Meta-Ontology

CN 205 (Chair: Sandra Lapointe)

  • Matt Chick, Washington University and Matt LaVine, SUNY Buffalo: Public Philosophy, Public Reason, and the Publicly-Verifiable

CN 217 (Chair: Juliette Kennedy)

  • James Russell Connelly, Trent University: On some Expository Blunders regarding Wittgenstein’s Operator N
  • Peter Sullivan, University of Stirling: The Identity Theory of Truth